Crusader Kings 2

4

March 7, 2012 by galudwig

Well, like I mentioned before, I haven’t really been updating much because most of my free time is now spent on Crusader Kings 2. So while everyone is wetting their pants over Super Tuesday, I’m wetting mine over this game.

If you haven’t heard of it, it’s a medieval “medieval dynasty simulator”. You take control of a count, duke or king and their family somewhere between 1066 and 1453 and are in control of their crown demesne, vassal relationships, laws, etc.. Obviously, it’s a history nerd’s wet dream (at least, until Magna Mundi is released in a few months or so)

I just achieved the primary goal of my first game, after a little more than 100 years passed in-game (about 15 hours of play-time? Not sure). I started as the Hwicce dynasty of Lancaster, declared independence from England during the second (failed) Norman invasion, became king of Wales and then slowly bribed, conquered and married my way to the English crown.

Isn’t itΒ beautiful? I’ll probably take a break from playing for now, as I’m getting a bit sick of the constant civil wars. But obviously, my next goal will be to unite the British Isles under the glorious House of Hwicce!

Too bad being a libertarian doesn’t really pay off in this game, I’m taxing my burghers into oblivion to fund my troops πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Crusader Kings 2

  1. Teaching our youth that high taxes and violence is good. Sounds like the United States to me πŸ™‚

    • Did you give up blogging already?

      • galudwig says:

        I did 😦
        Once a few days went by, it became harder to get back at it, and then the days turned into weeks and the weeks into months. I guess I saw little point in continuing in the direction I was going.

        Maybe I’ll get back to it later and change it up a little. Logging into wordpress again to post this comment, I do feel like picking it up again.

        You’ve been doing great though! I’ve been reading your and some other people’s blogs through the Pidgin plugin. It amazes me how your world and the people you live with seem to be almost the polar opposite of mine, yet our viewpoints are very similar! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

